top of page

The X-100 and X-150 Stories

Jaguar's Modern Grand Tourers 1996 - 2014

The Jaguar XK series (XK, XK8 and XKR) is a series of grand tourer cars produced by British car maker Jaguar Cars since 1996. The series was introduced at the Geneva Motor Show on 5 March 1996, and the last car came off the production line on 23 July 2014.


The first generation of the series, the XK8, replaced the XJS, and was available as a coupé and convertible. The XK8 was the first 8-cylinder vehicle produced by Jaguar since the Daimler 250, introducing the Jaguar AJ-V8 engine.


The second generation XK was launched in 2006 (as a model year 2007). The new XK introduced an aluminiummonocoque bodyshell, and is available both as a two-door coupé and two-door cabriolet/convertible, with just the engine and associated mechanicals being carried forward.


The X-100 Series

The XK8 was launched in 1996 to replace the XJ-S. Two body styles were produced - a coupé and a convertible. The car was the first in the Jaguar line-up to use Jaguar's newly developed V8 engine - the AJ-V8. In 1998 the supercharged XKR was added to the range. However, both the XK8 and XKR are limited to a maximum top speed of 155.4 mph (250.1 km/h).


The XK8 came standard with 17-inch alloy wheels, while 18-inch (Standard on the XKR), 19-inch, and 20-inch wheels were available for the XK8 at an additional cost. Jaguar's Adaptive Cruise Control is an optional feature available on both models. Both models came with all-leather interior, burl walnut trim, and side airbags.

X-100 Timeline and Specials

Produced by Jaguar Cars

  • XK8 1996-2005

  • XKR 1998-2005

  • XKR Silverstone* 2000-2001

  • XKR 100 2002

  • XKR 400 2003-2004

  • Carbon Fibre 2004

  • XKR Black Knight (Japan only) 2005

  • XKR 4.2S Victory (USA only) 2005

  • Portfolio (USA only) 2005

  • XK8/R 4.2S 2005

Dealer Special Editions

  • A-Type 1999 - Arden

  • Paramount Tempest and Typhoon 2005

  • Merlin 4.2S

  • Stratstone Limited Edition 2006


*The only true Jaguar model variant is the XKR Silverstone which used unique suspension parts not fitted to other models in the range. The other Jaguar- produced Specials were trim-based variants

The X-150 Series

The newly designed XK was unveiled in 2005 at the Frankfurt Motor Show in Germany. Jaguar's chief designer Ian Callum (who was also responsible for working on the Aston Martin DB7 and Vanquish coupés) claimed that the inspiration for the shape of the new XK came from his admiration for British actress Kate Winslet's curves. The X150's grille was also inspired from the famous 1961 Jaguar E-Type.


The standard XK model has an unlimited top speed of 158 mph whilst the XKR an unlimited top speed of 174 mph. An even faster variant, the XKR-S model was introduced at the Geneva Motor Show in 2012. The XKR-S gained an additional 40 horsepower over the XKR bringing the 0-60 mph time down to only 4.4 seconds and the top speed up to 300 km/h (186 mph) - making it the fastest Jaguar yet after the Jaguar XJ220. A convertible version of the XKR-S was released in 2012.

X-150 Timeline and Specials

  • XK60 2008

  • XKR Briggs-Cunningham 2010

  • XKRS (1st Edition) 2009

  • XKR 75 2010

  • XK Portfolio 2010

  • XKRS (2nd Edition) 2012

  • XK Artisan-SE 2012

  • XK Signature 2013

  • XKRS GT 2015

  • XKR Dynamic-R 2015

bottom of page